An Interesting Life

My history with cancer

Between biopsies

A lot happened between biopsy one in the doctor's office and biopsy three at the hospital (besides biopsy two I mean).

We got pregnant twice. One ended in miscarriage. We started trying to get pregnant a little sooner that recommeneded after the miscarriage because of the upcoming first biopsy. The second pregnancy, of course, turned out to be Lucy.

I also went through a lot of moods.

At first I was convinced I had cancer and was angry that the doctor could not find a way to confirm it.

Then I became convinced I was just some sort of freak with wacky PSA.

Then I swung back to cancer again.

After the third biopsy samples came back positive, we didn't have a lot of time to think about anything. The doctor immediately swept us into the system and we were under the knife in about a month. It would have been sooner but they wanted me to bank my own blood.

After the operation, I became convinced that I didn't really have cancer and that the doctor was just trying to justify all the procedures.

Now, I am convinced that I did have cancer and that I was extremely lucky to have doctors who kept searching diligently.

The odd thing about my prostate cancer is that I had no symptoms. The only suffering I did came directly from the surgery and its aftermath.

With the rectal cancer I have now, I know something is going on. I can feel it – although lately it has been feeling better –

And I have seen it both in the picture behind the link and in a CAT scan.

There is no doubt about this cancer, but I am still hoping somebody made a horrible mistake.

More about the surgery prep in my next installment.

April 19, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. You are such a good storyteller. Too bad your story sucks.

    “…let the water sluice through…”

    I still laugh until my eyes water at that one.

    Tell Mary I’m praying for her and Lucy, too (everything can’t just be about you!!!).

    Sheesh. You are something else. (“Cancermagnet,” indeed.)

    Comment by Melissa | April 21, 2006


Leave a comment